top of page
  • Writer's pictureSabrina Dhesi

let's call it an "experience"

Well...let us just call it an experience. An experience I hope to never encounter again in my life.

Never have I everthought I’d be writing something like this but...


I attended an interview for a Paid Social Media Marketing internship in London. Beforehand, I was given a few questions to answer and then a written test and an image from their Instagram where I was told to make it look more engaging. I did both of these tests, considering the resources I had, I thought I did fairly well. After several email exchanges (mainly me pestering them to see if they have received my emails) I finally got an interview. I kept thinking, they’ve given me many tests to do and they seem to like my work so I might have a shot at getting this internship.


I arrived there, 20 minutes early, at some type of warehouse. I was greeted by a man where he said they will be with you shortly. Then another woman walked past and greeted me asking how I am, where I’m from etc asked if I want tea or coffee, she was really nice. Then 5 minutes later the interviewer came and took a seat and he asked me the general questions about where I’m from how did I get here etc.


He then started the interview process, asking about my experience I gave him my answer then I said I have my portfolio here to give you an insight into my skills using the adobe software and some marketing knowledge I have. He shut me down. He said I don’t care about your portfolio, let’s be honest your CV is below average it’s very boring you’ve got nothing to you.


I was sat there in shock, never thought I’d be hearing something like this from my interviewer that only knows me for less than 10 minutes. He now started on saying my written test was shocking, for someone like yourself it’s absolutely shocking your image you did was appalling nothing to it very bland. At this point I was thinking, have you got the right test because I was writing essays for these answers. Why am I invited to this interview if you think my work is shocking.


He carried on giving me an insight about the business and what he’s looking for, showing me examples of people’s work. He started talking about how I’m a brown girl you should be a lot better than what you’re presenting. In an Anglo-Saxon field, you should be dominating this field (no idea what this has to do with anything but ok). He then said, your social media you don’t show anything you’re boring you don’t show your opinions or anything. You’re not gonna get anywhere in life with they way you are now. Now, I’m practically in tears, thinking what the hell am i doing here. How can he see any of my social media accounts as they are all on private.

He then asked me what matters to you most in life, before I could answer he said money and bling am I right. I said well I was gonna say family. He then followed with, no, family isn’t important to you. You only care about money and bling. How can you afford these holidays, makeup, clothes. I’m just sat there trying not to hysterically cry. I am, sat on this sofa, really uncomfortable with this interview. He said to me, there is no need to be nervous. In my head I was thinking, I’m not nervous I just want to get out of here.


He said he’s gonna give me another test on the weekend (the interview was on a Thursday) I want it completed in order for me to consider you for this role. We then exchanged our goodbyes etc. I walked out of there, so confused and questioning my self, am I really not gonna get anywhere in this field. Am I going to have to stop what I have a passion on and change to something else.


Anyways, that was my experience at the worst and weirdest interview I’ve ever had in my whole life. If I’ve learnt anything, is that no matter how much effort you put in to achieve your best. There is always someone that will knock you down.


Moving on from this if anyone has a job/hiring in fashion marketing and would love to hire me that would be great.


Thank you for listening to my rant


Sabrina X

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page